Do you understand what Japanese have a soul? Generally Japanese don’t insist on their opinion enough. Why do they do so? Clearly say that they wouldn't eager to show their mind to other. Again why don’t they so? I think the reason may depend on Japanese language systems. I’d like to tell about such reasons with some cases.
Kichi: I feel like there’re increasing tones emphasized of Japanese people’s excellence in TV programs or issues of newspapers.
Gai: I could see. But why? I think people in overseas believe Japanese people are excellent a bit world widely, but after the disaster 3.11 People have known Japanese people were excellent in under the circumstances. How do you think?
Kichi: I can’t understand what is true in fact. Why don’t you talk about Japanese people’s characteristic features? It’s for people who have some sort of interests about Japanese people.
Gai: Wow, it’s good ideas. Do right now! Now, what’s a subject at first?
Kichi: It seems that Japanese people are not good at expressing their own thinking. I’d try to think it clearly.
Gai: I think it’s clear. Japanese are not good at English, so they can’t explain about it.
Kichi: A what? Just English ability? Oh, I think there’re some more problems.
Gai: Ah, maybe, for them, it's so messy to explain their own in detail.
Kichi: It seems that they cannot rather explain it if they spend much time.
Gai: Hmm, I’m sure. For example, in case of wanting to know a reason about activity a person did, she or he tells just wanting doing so. It’s as usual for Japanese.
Kichi: In these cases we know some reasons in our mind, but we feel it’s not just right answer we believe. So, we would be silent rather than we would be misunderstood by other.
Gai: I think so. It might be incorrect that people always have a right reason of their activity.
Kichi But, in the western in general people who can’t answer their reason of their activity clearly may be deemed a man who doesn't think willingly. It seems a discomfort.
Gai: I’d try to show my idea of that below.
We
Japanese don’t explain our activity’s reason to other Japanese as usual.
However we are intend to change our behavior if we are pointed it out by a
person who is our person concerned. But, if the person pointed was unrelated
person we do not rather change our behavior and explain our reason. It’s the
time to fight to other that we show our opinion to other clearly. That’s why
the time we show our opinion clearly is what we refuse other. Our basic
reaction seems that we feel surprising when we are denied by other. So within
our society we won’t criticize other directly. But it’s just among equal
relations or like that. Generally we’re in a hierarchical relation, so in that
our behavior might be ruled its power system. In our society there’re a typical
power system so called “Senpai, Kouhai”. The former means a person who is
older, the latter means its opposite person. If you are the Kouhai against your
elder person, you are obeying him or her basically. This system seem rather
having less developed aspect. But it can’t help in Japan because it’s just our
tradition.
I think for Euro-American people feel those persons
may seem so “naive”. In this point they can’t understand what Japanese people
are. Especially we Japanese are rather not good at English. So we can’t explain
what we want to do. Furthermore we dislike a talkative person. I think this
depends on our language system. In our society we are always careful to use
Japanese language rule officially. We often point to other “Your Japanese is
slightly strange.” So when we are talking about something we must pay attention
to use grammar or words. That’s why we are anxious when we say something whether
Japanese or English. Thus if we can speak English fluently we won’t be
talkative person at all. However I think this reason may be only self-righteousness
of Japanese people in the world. Because if we see like those people, we think
they must be a cabbagehead or a spitefulness people absolutely.